Friday, September 22nd

11:00am-6:00pm Registration Registration Open --
12:00pm-12:30pm Plenary Session
Lunch Served
Conference Welcoming Remarks

Master of Ceremonies:
Joey Wynn, Community Relations Director
Empower U

Brandon M. Macsata
ADAP Advocacy Association
12:30pm-1:00pm Plenary Session Opening Keynote:
The Positive Evolution: Standing in my Purpose

Learn more at:
Learn more at:

Maria Mejia
The Well Project,

International social media activist. Motivational speaker. Author. Blogger.

1:00pm-2:30pm Plenary Session Body Positive: Spirituality & Living with HIV

Joan M. McGovern, Director, Mission Advancement & Spiritual Director
Cenacle Retreat Center

Khadijah I. Abdullah
RAHMA and Muslim Nannies

Darnell Ferrell
Ordained Minister
The City of Love Church

Joshua Middleton
Patient Advocate
Pozitive Hope, Inc.

Dr. Joyce Turner Keller

2:30pm-2:45pm Break Break --
2:45pm-4:15pm Plenary Session Financial Toxicity: Cost of HIV Care and Impact on Patients Health

Amy Niles, Vice President of External Affairs
Patient Access Network Foundation (PAN)

Tony Droppleman
Manager Onsite Pharmacy Operations

Scott A. Kramer, LCSW-R, ACSW
Scott A. Kramer Psychotherapy & Counseling

Achim Howard
DC Transmen Rising

Elizabeth Paukstis
Public Policy Director
National Virus Hepatitis Roundtable (NVHR)

4:15pm-5:45pm Plenary Session Healthcare Partnerships: Leveraging State ADAPs to Promote Better Community Collaboration

Britten Pund, Associate Director, Health Care Access
National Alliance of State & Territorial AIDS Directors (NASTAD)

Sha'Terra Johnson-Fairley, LMSW
Health Planner
Houston Regional HIV/AIDS Resource Group, Inc.

Diana Jordan
Director of Healthcare Services. ADAP
Virginia Department of Health

David Pable
Community Member
South Carolina HIV Planning Council

Jack Rollins
Senior Policy Analyst
National Association of Medicaid Directors (NAMD)

6:00pm-7:00pm Reception Networking Reception --

Saturday, September 23rd

9:00am-9:30am Coffee Served Continental Breakfast --
9:30am-11:00am Plenary Session HIV & Medication Adherence: Supporting Treatment Strategies

Glen Pietrandoni, R.Ph., AAHIVP, Sr. Director, Virology

Michael J. Harbour, MD, FACP, AAHIVS
Global Executive Director Infectious Diseases
Merck & Co., Inc.

Theresa Nowlin
Health Peer navigator
AIDS Action Committee

TJ Parker
Co-Founder & CEO
Pill Pack

Robert Skinner
President & CEO
Valley AIDS Information Network

11:00am-11:15am Break Break --
11:15am-12:45pm Plenary Session HIV & Culturally Competent Care: Supporting Marginalized Communities

Michael Shankle, Director of Capacity Building

Guy Anthony
President & Founder
Black, Gifted & Whole

Riley Johnson
Executive Director
RAD Remedy

Maria Mejia
The Well Project

A. Toni Young
Executive Director
Community Education Group

12:45pm-1:45pm Plenary Session
Lunch Served
Networking Luncheon --
1:45pm-2:00pm Break Break --
2:00pm-3:30pm Plenary Session HIV & State Level HIV Advocacy: Supporting Successful Grassroots

Eddie Hamilton, Executive Director
ADAP Educational Initiative

Ken Bargar
Florida HIV/AIDS Advocacy Network (FHAAN)

Kathie M. Hiers
President & CEO
AIDS Alabama

Lee Storrow
Executive Director
North Carolina AIDS Action Network (NCAAN)

Jason L. Walker
HIV/AIDS Community Organizaer

3:30pm-4:00pm Plenary Session Conference Closing Session Brandon M. Macsata
ADAP Advocacy Association
4:00pm Adjourn Conference Adjourns promptly at 4:00pm --
7:00pm-9:00pm -- Dinner 7th Annual ADAP Awards Dinner:
Swimming To New Shores: The Conflict of Loving Difference in A Climate of Hate

What does it mean to be different at a time when so much energy is directed at making people the same? The current political climate has people all along the political spectrum drawing lines in the sand. The insistence that others believe the same things has left all of us shipwrecked. How do we keep from drowning or do more than stay afloat? How do we look at where we are and have gratitude for the opportunity to head for new shores together? How do we start to love and embrace difference for real?

Lynne Maureen Hurdle
Conflict Resolution Strategist
Hur Comm Solutions LLC

Awards Dinner Sponsors

-- -- The following awards will be presented:

  • ADAP Lifetime Achievement (individual): Paul Arons, M.D. & Paulette Heath
  • ADAP Champion of the Year (individual): Britten Pund, Director, Health Care Access, National Alliance of State & Territorial AIDS Directors (NASTAD)
  • ADAP Emerging Leader of the Year (individual): Khadijah Abdullah, Founder, RAHMA and Muslim Nannies
  • ADAP Corporate Partner of the Year: ViiV Healthcare
  • ADAP Community Organization of the Year: The Resource Group, Inc., Houston, TX
  • ADAP Lawmaker of the Year: The Honorable Marilyn Avila, General Assemblywoman (N.C.) & The Honorable Scott Wiener, State Senator (Calif.)
  • ADAP Social Media Campaign of the Year: Pozitively Dee Discussions, by Davina Conner
  • ADAP Grassroots Campaign of the Year: Network Empowerment Project (NEP) by SERO Project
  • ADAP Media Story of the Year: “America’s Hidden H.I.V. Epidemic” by Linda Villarosa, published in the New York Times on 06/06/17

Purchase ticket to attend the awards dinner.

Thanks to our sponsors:

  • AbbVie
  • AIDS Alabama
  • AIDS Healthcare Foundation
  • Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Community Access National Network (CANN)
  • Gilead Sciences
  • Janssen Therapeutics
  • Merck
  • Mylan
  • PAN Foundation
  • Ramsell Corporation
  • ScriptGuideRx
  • SunTrust Bank
  • The Macsata-Kornegay Group, Inc.
  • Theratechnologies
  • Turing Pharmaceuticals
  • ViiV Healthcare
  • Walgreens